scoretree.blogg.se

Dragon dictate for mac 6 review
Dragon dictate for mac 6 review











dragon dictate for mac 6 review
  1. #Dragon dictate for mac 6 review android#
  2. #Dragon dictate for mac 6 review software#
  3. #Dragon dictate for mac 6 review professional#

I wouldn’t have noticed this except for the fact that the Windows version has been capable of it for several generations now. You still can’t train Dragon to learn new words and phrases from your transcription files. It’s a huge improvement on previous versions where there were certain words I could not train or get the program to learn no matter how often I tried. This can be cured with a simple find and replace, though. When it learns fantasy names, Dragon does not recognise the capitalisation. Simply restarting it got rid of the problem. At first, I thought my MacBook’s keyboard was broken, but when I switched off Dragon, the letter became available again, and the program worked just fine. Instead of randomly adding letters and symbols to my corrections, Dragon now sometimes locks up the letter A. There have been a few problems, but they are fairly minor.

dragon dictate for mac 6 review

When I bother to keep track, I discover I usually manage around 94% to 97%. (As an aside I tend to think my typing is more accurate than it really is- I correct mistakes automatically as I go along and so don’t notice them. That’s 18 mistakes in 1000 words, better than my actual typing. Recognition accuracy is extraordinary- over 99% on normal speech, 98.2% accuracy transcribing dictation of a fantasy novel with made up words. I find myself making notes and jotting down ideas as I go. If you are self-conscious about dictating in a public space, this is very useful. People assume you are simply making a call if they see you. It lets you dictate anywhere and in a sort of secrecy. Being able to use a phone with speech recognition is incredibly useful.

#Dragon dictate for mac 6 review android#

I could dictate onto my Android phone, upload the results to Dropbox and then get the speech files turned into text. The new batch transcription feature worked very well. Soon I was dictating happily within Scrivener with full-text control. There were none of the show-stopping bugs I encountered with version 5. This time around making corrections actually worked. I fed it the texts of 9 of my books and some of my journal pages so it could get used to my writing style. I am so used to having them dashed I gritted my teeth and kept at it. My hopes started to rise, but they always do at this point in testing a new version of Dragon. It installed quickly and easily, and the accuracy was superb out of the box.

#Dragon dictate for mac 6 review professional#

I booted up version 6 of Dragon Professional with no great expectations. Eventually, I gave up and went back to Dragon Naturally Speaking for Windows running on Boot Camp. It randomly added characters as I typed corrections which made the process, so essential to accurate speech recognition, extremely long-winded and frustrating. The last (otherwise very good) version was ruined for me by the corrections interface. Unfortunately, the interface built around it was usually terrible- ugly, buggy and extremely prone to crashing. When Nuance took over the basic speech recognition engine became the same superb one as used on Dragon Naturally Speaking for Windows. Every version has ultimately disappointed. I have tried every incarnation of Mac speech to text software, starting with iListen before it was acquired by Nuance and working my way through DragonDictate and the renamed Dragon Professional Individual for Mac. Speech recognition on Apple’s machines has been an area in which they have lagged well behind Windows. Over this period I have primarily been a Mac user.

#Dragon dictate for mac 6 review software#

I have been using speech recognition software for years now, mainly to let me write when my RSI and assorted ergonomic related ailments got too bad for me to type.













Dragon dictate for mac 6 review